REVIEWS

Here’s what some satisfied customers have to say

Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

49 Reviews | write a review


default image

We are very pleased with the whole process.

We had 2 new garage doors, openers and exterior trim installed. We are very pleased with the whole process from Mike the salesman down to the installers. Mike helped with suggestions and was very professional. The installers did a very professional job, cleaned up when they were done and explained everything and answered all our questions. We are both very happy with the job. We would highly recommend them.

Mark D Kushik Cranberry TWP. October 9, 2020

default image

We are impressed!

Thank you for your prompt response and for the excellent job you did in repairing our garage door. My wife and I are impressed!

If we know of anyone who is in need of garage door replacement or repair we will without hesitation refer them you to. Thank you

L. Brody October 2, 2020

default image

EXCELLENT WORK; GOOD PRICE; GREAT SERVICE

I had a new garage door installed. The job they did was EXCELLENT. The workers that installed it were very polite and friendly. I give Thomas V. Giel Garage Doors and A++.

Diane A Cherrybrook in Bridgeville / Garage Door and Opener Installed October 2, 2020

default image

Beyond pleased

I am beyond pleased with my new garage door! It is an amazing addition to my home and the instal was PERFECT! Donnie and Jack did and OUTSTANDING job! They were careful and precise. Everything was done in a day and to my complete satisfaction. Jack even came back when he was finished to add something extra! Top notch!!! Thank you!

Sue Garage door September 21, 2020

default image

Great Job!

I would highly recommend Thomas Giel Garage Doors. I called on a Tuesday when 1 of our 2 (32 year old) openers quit just days before leaving for a trip. I had several conversations with their scheduler/service manager trying to diagnose if a torsion bar spring would be necessary. He was great, and walked me through the process and with a few pictures was able to determine the spring was ok. They were able to replace the broken opener and the other one on Thursday morning prior to us leaving. They did an EXCELLENT install on the new openers, helped me program everything, added two additional switches (not on original order), added a strut to one door (not on order but recommended at time of install), and adjusted and serviced both doors. I couldn't be happier. I've told several people it's the most happy I've been with a purchase in a very long time. The install guys were great, they showed up on time, were very professional and did an outstanding job! Thanks for the great service!

John D Fanelli Chamberlain Garage Door Openers September 21, 2020

default image

Great Garage Door Crew

Jack, Donny and Brian were some of the most polite and personable workers I have ever met. I don't meet many service employees that shake hands when introducing themselves. They made sure I understood all the new equipment. I would definitely have them come out again. John Gardner (sales person) was also very polite and personable! Great team!!

Lynn Steffanos new garage door motor, track and keypad - Franklin Park September 21, 2020

default image

Garage Door Installation 10 star rating

I highly recommend Giel for any of your needs. I would give them a 10 star rating if I could.

The installers were prompt, professional, and courteous. They patiently answered all my questions and started and completed the job in the timeframe I was given.

Bernita Clover Garage door September 21, 2020

default image

Sam did excellent work

Sam the repair man did excellent work. On time, polite and worked efficiently. Used Thomas Giel before and will use again.

Gary Westview PA September 21, 2020

default image

You guys are the best

This is only the second or third time in my life (I am 52) that I have been so moved by an excellent customer experience as to write about it. Thank you Jason T and Landon. I never thought I could be so excited about new garage doors. You guys are the best!!

Richard Garage Doors in Allison Park September 21, 2020

default image

Professional & Wonderful

I plan to mail a letter but wanted to write you that I am totally pleased with my new garage doors! A special thanks to Don and Steve. They were absolutely wonderful! Very professional and knowledgeable and took the time to do the job right. They made sure to go over all of the information with me. I would recommend Giel to anyone needing new garage doors. You guys are aces in my book!

Barbara Slade

Barbara and Gary slade Garage doors in Allison Park September 21, 2020

default image

Great Job for truck roll up door repair

Fixed the broken roll up door on my box truck same day in about an hour. Fast service, good price, and even game me a can of oil for the door so I can keep everything working smooth. Highly recommended.

Arthur Cooper September 21, 2020

default image

Thanks Patrick!!

A repair man named Patrick just came to my house to investigate and fix an ongoing issue I have been having. He was extremely kind, listened and made me feel like my questions and concerns were important. He eliminated possible causes one by one until he found the problem. He repaired it efficiently and was very neat with his work. He even put some lubricant on my squeaky door! The cost For the parts and service was very reasonable As well. I would highly recommend using Thomas Giel for your garage door needs! I won’t go anywhere else! Thanks Patrick!!

Julia Garage door repair September 21, 2020

default image

Happy with results

I had two garage doors installed and am very happy with the results. The guys were on time, very friendly and professional. I will definitely recommend them if you need garage doors replaced.

Karen Parson September 21, 2020

default image

Good job with a fair price in every way

John Gardner showed up at our home and we told him what we wanted and he listened. He made recommendations that were thoughtful and solved technical problems. He presented us with a solution that he would have done for himself. The installers, Dave and Landon arrived on time and were friendly and worked diligently. They cleaned up before they left. The level of skill necessary to install these garage doors and openers could not be done by a do-it-yourself person. It was a very good job with a fair price in every way. Thank you very much!

Joanna Morrison September 21, 2020

default image

Definitely someone worth hiring!!

I had my garage door motor, the track and the keypad replaced and was very pleased with their professionalism and their demeanor. All three of them were very polite and personable. Jack, Donny & Brian all introduced themselves and shook my hand (unusual in today's world). They were even kind enough to ask me if they could fix something in my garage that could be dangerous for people coming in and out. They did a great job of explaining how everything worked. Definitely someone worth hiring!!

Lynn S. May 31, 2019

default image

Great Service!

Harold just finished fixing our garage doors (one of them had a snapped cable and the other hasn't worked for some time--we just never got it fixed). We called for service yesterday, and he was able to come to our house first thing this morning to fix the doors. His service was outstanding! His work was clean (big bonus points there) and efficient, and I found him to be knowledgeable, honest, courteous, and personable. In addition to Harold's excellent service, my initial call to the company was handled quickly and pleasantly, and the total cost was more than reasonable. Excellent job!

Frank Gibsonia, PA December 28, 2018

default image

Sam is the Man!

I couldn't have asked for better service. And Sam, amazing. Pleasant, explains everything and takes care of everything, including calling the warranty company. Customer for life! Thanks so much again!!!!

Amy Garage door December 28, 2018

default image

Branch manager

Excellent service,came to my shop to fix a box truck roll up door.they were on time,professional,would highly recommend,them.
Thanks again

Greg A Hay October 5, 2018

default image

Beyond the call of duty.

They gave a quote; ordered the door, and within 3 weeks had the job completed. The two technicians were very professional and made sure the door was sealed properly. They even sealed around some pipes with caulking which was "above and beyond the call of duty.

Kathy S. Edgeworth , PA December 12, 2017

default image

Give Thomas V. Giel a call, you won’t be disappointed

After I received a quote from Thomas V Giel for new awning, we decided to have them install it. After a quality install, my wife had a few questions. Not only did the salesman come to our home, the owner of the company came as well to answer our questions.
While they were there, I asked for a quote to repair my garage door. After the technicians finished the work, not only had they completed the scope of work, I believe they cleaned the garage door and adjusted it because it opens better than it ever has.
If you are looking for a company with skilled employees, excellent customer service and a is concerned about the quality of their work, give Thomas V Giel call, you won't be disappointed.

Joseph B. West Mifflin , PA November 11, 2017

default image

Great attention to detail

From the moment I called and talked to the Inside Sales staff at the office, to the salesman Jason's attention to detail then Donnie and Steve the installers doing an excellent job while on site. I could not have asked for a speedier process that accommodated my needs. Thank you!

Diane C. Pittsburgh , PA November 10, 2017

default image

Friendly, prompt, excellent service!

Came out next day after I called to replace garage door spring. Friendly, prompt, excellent service!

David E. Wexford , PA November 9, 2017

default image

Very happy

Donnie and Steve just finished the installation of my door opener. Both were gentleman, proficient, courteous, respectful, neat and efficient.
They both are a valuable asset to your organization!

James R. Pittsburgh , PA October 26, 2017

default image

John Gardner did a great job!

John Gardner did a great job! He communicated well, was pleasant and diagnosed the problem. John is a great asset to Thomas V. Giel Garage Doors, Inc. John deserves an "atta boy" for his work on our house today! Thank you to the entire service team for such a quick response.

Carol G. Pittsburgh , PA October 9, 2017

default image

Quick and efficient

We had a bad sensor for our garage door so it wouldn't open or close properly. I requested service through this website and the next day I got a call from a Tech that was in my area. He was able to stop by and promptly repair my garage door opener. There are not many companies that do next day service these days. Thanks.

Tim N. Franklin Park , PA September 28, 2017

default image

Job well done!

Would like to thank the guys for doing a real nice job on installing my three garage doors.
Good clean-up. Doors look really nice and work just great.

Robert Holtman Leechburg , PA September 22, 2017

default image

You have very kind and helpful employees.

I want to tell you how pleased I am with the young men you sent to order the garage door and install it. Harold came out and went over my old garage door, then he placed the order with my new garage door. After that your installers Ziggy and David A. installed the garage door. They answered all of my questions and explained the workings of the door! I am very satisfied with my new garage door. I wanted you to know you have very kind and helpful employees.

Janet F. Leechburg , PA September 22, 2017

default image

Excellent job

Work was performed as scheduled and was done very well. Installation team was professional,
friendly and did an excellent job.

Edward F. Fox Chapel , PA September 21, 2017

default image

They were on time, friendly and efficient.

We recently had a garage door installed and just wanted to say the installers Patrick & Don were great! They were on time, friendly and efficient. They explained what they were going to do and got to work. When they were done they explained maintenance of the garage door and cleaned up like nothing ever happened. I know people always want to complain, but I just wanted to give a kudos to both of them. I would call you again!

Dolores C. Pittsburgh , PA August 24, 2017

default image

These guys are wonderful.

These guys are wonderful. Came quickly and were friendly, flexible and informative. I hire them for all garage door needs.

Leslee O. Wexford , PA August 22, 2017

default image

Supreme service and totally professional!

We purchased the "Crest 700 insulated awning with the skylight" and it is above and beyond our expectations! Candice was a joy to work with! She was hands-on from beginning to end. A wonderful group of people to work with.

Robin & Tim Phillips Natrona Heights , Pa June 16, 2017

default image

Thank you for being so responsive

I wanted to thank you for being so responsive and taking care of my garage doors. I truly appreciate you always checking in with me and keeping me informed while working. All of my garage doors work now. Thank you

Cassandra Gibsonia , PA February 20, 2017

default image

Thank you for helping me on short notice!

Thank your office staff for helping me on such short notice! David did such a good job addressing my problem. Your company saved me tons of money!

Ryan Pittsburgh , PA January 18, 2017

default image

Recommend you to anyone

I want to compliment you on the two installers that put up my doors last week. They did a great job quickly & they explained what they were doing and cleaned up afterwards. Salesman Mike did a super job explaining our options and guiding us. We will recommend you to anyone looking of garage doors.

George Moon Township , PA December 7, 2016

default image

Outstanding service at a great value!

Fit us into your schedule with minimal notice. Great service. Extremely friendly and professional. Will not hesitate to recommend your service to anyone. Thank you.

Vaughn Pittsburgh , PA November 10, 2016

default image

Thank you for bailing me out!

You were at my home this past Friday to fix my garage door that got "outta whack". Your service man was very professional and got everything back into working order. Thank you for bailing me out. I appreciate your service.

Bob Pittsburgh , PA November 7, 2016

default image

Your People are great

Last week I called about getting a price for a new opener. Jesica was very helpful and answered all my questions and she gave me the price.
I called and ordered, the opener and then Dave and Robert installed it.
Everyone was very pleasant to talk to.
The instillation went as smooth as silk and I couldn't believe how quiet the belt drive is. They explained to me how everything works and about the guarantee on the belt and operation of the battery back up,
Adjusted the operation of the door and safety mechanisms.
You can be very proud of your employees. Thank you we love it.

Richard F. Adametz Wexford , Pa October 27, 2016

default image

Great Company

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful job that was done with the installation of my new garage door. You sent Sean & Justin to handle the installation and they were such nice gentleman. Your company should be proud to have them as employees! Also, my salesman Lance was just so nice to work with. It was a pleasure dealing with your company and I will highly recommend you to others.

Ann Marie Pittsburgh , PA August 18, 2016

default image

Very Nice

Installers were fantastic and very nice! Great company!

William Pittsburgh , PA August 17, 2016

default image

Very professional, clean & courteous

I wanted to thank your installers for a wonderful job yesterday! They were clean, professional & courteous and they did great work. I would suggest your company again and again

Meyers Cranberry Twp , PA August 11, 2016

default image

Excellent Service – Great job Tim!

The circuit board blew out due to my poor DYI skills. I called 3 companies and Thomas Giel (there are other Giel companies) was the first to set a time for service. Tim is the tech who arrived at 9 AM ( ETA 9-9:30). Recommended replacing the gear kit at the same time as the Logic board. My chain was visually loose, had been for some time; Tim said it was only a matter of a short time before the gear would need replacing. He replaced both parts within 40 minutes. Now almost no noise from the chain when the door operates, great improvement and pricing was competitive.

Richard Ames Gibsonia , PA April 12, 2016

default image

Recommended by a friend

I was looking to replace garage doors and was recommended by friend. Their price point was close to Lowes (which I had no intention of buying from). Their sales person was very professional. Delivery was scheduled in 4-6 weeks (standard) they came in 2 weeks. installed the next day.The installers were very knowledgeable and professional. Absolutely recommend to anyone!

Mike Grafton New Kensington , PA March 16, 2016

default image

Highly Impressed, Gold Star Customer Service

Late on a Tuesday night, my spring broke to my door.
After receiving a recommendation from a previous customer, I sent a request online.
A representative called me quickly & wanted to understand if this was an immediate need (as in did I need to get my car out of the garage).

2 days later Harold showed up. Unimpressed with the installation of the garage door, he improved areas where the original installer lacked attention to detail.
He was very clear and explained to me what needed to be done. He was very professional while at my home.

I had done research on the replacement cost & I was stunned with how reasonable the price was.

When my garage door requires replacement, I will surely be back.

Sarah Pittsburgh , pa November 13, 2015

default image

Great Service

I returned home late last night to find my garage door wouldn't open. I entered through a side door and found a broken spring. I called Thomas V. Giel this morning around 8:30 AM, and at 11:00 AM the springs have been replaced and the door works fine. Great Service.

Robert Wexford , PA October 29, 2015

default image

The product and service are outstanding and we could not be …

After 25 years, we finally replaced the original garage door to our 59 year old house (Sept 2015). The door itself is really nice and the color is a perfect match to the trim on the house.

The installation team did an excellent job of installing the door, including cutting out the mail slot. The door looks great and works great! We could not be happier with this purchase and will definitely recommend Thomas V. Giel to everyone we know.

Mr and Mrs T Pittsburgh , PA October 9, 2015

default image

Excellent Customer Service

I called yesterday informing you of a problem getting my garage door to close properly.
After describing the "symptoms" I was advised that it probably was just some cobwebs or other debris clogging the sensors.
I went home , cleaned up around the sensors, and my garage door was fixed.
I admit to knowing very little on the operation of the door, and you could have taken advantage of this, sent a serviceman to my house and charged me for a service call and labor to fix this, putting the money in your pocket, in lieu of free advice over the phone, as many other businesses might have.
I just wanted to thank you for your honesty and fix suggestion.
Your residential customer service representative was polite, courteous, and knowledgeable.
Thanks again,
Rick S.
Forest Hills

Rick S Pittsburgh , PA September 2, 2015

default image

Outstanding Job!

I wanted to let you all know how much we appreciated the work and professionalism of Ziggy and Patrick this week. They did an outstanding job removing and installing our new doors. Not to mention the terrific job they did cleaning up afterwards. KUDOS! and Thank you again.

Larry B. Pittsburgh , PA August 6, 2015

default image

You found The BEST IN THE ‘BURGH

Some months ago, I was the recipient of a below substandard garage door installation done by another company. So frustrated and stressed because I hired the wrong installation business, I contacted Ed Giel of Thomas V. Giel Garage Door for a his opinion. Sure enough, his assessment was spot on! I scheduled the installation appointment. On arrival and in one full day Ed and his crew completely dismantled and re-replaced 2 new garage doors with all new hardware. Ed and his team know their stuff and are detailed professionals in every way. Character traits that are very hard to find and everything you want in your next garage door repair. They earn your trust and keep it!

Keith Indiana Twp , Pa April 29, 2015

default image

Excellent experience!

Excellent experience with Thomas Giel.
The crew of 2 showed up on time and they were gone 2hrs later, after installing and adjusting the new garage door, putting new trim, connecting it to the opener and cleaning the interior of the garage.
They were very professional and courteous.
I have only positive things to say about Thomas Giel and their prices are excellent.
Highly recommend.

Philippe L. Pittsburgh , PA March 22, 2015


Please give your Testimonial a Title.

Please enter your Full Name.

Please enter your e-mail address. This information will not be publicly displayed.

Please enter the Location or the Product being Reviewed.

1 - 5 out of 5, where 5/5 is the best and 1/5 is the worst.

Please enter your Testimonial.

Why Choose Us?

  • Onsite Professional Staff
  • Family Owned and Operated
  • Quality Workmanship
  • Honest and Integrity
  • Fully-Insured